Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Trying Not to Seem Too Crazy...

Today was not a good day. Today is the 17th day in a row that I haven’t seen Workaholic Ken. The texts from this past weekend were so frustrating. Though I must say that getting no texts is definitely worse.  Maybe it really is over and he just won’t ever text me again. I don’t think that is the case…but you know what…nothing would surprise me. I keep thinking about texting him. Hmm what would I write? 

A. “Hey hope you are having a good week”
*He will think: Barbie is thinking about me, I should say hi. 

B. “Hey, I know you are super busy but do you think we can get together this week? Maybe on Wed. or Friday?
*He will think: Barbie seems to be getting a little fed up with not seeing me, I should try to see her.

C. “Hey stranger…hope you aren’t working too hard”
*He will think: Barbie is thinking of me...and clearly she is ok with what is going on with us. 

D. “Hey, I hope you are having a good week. I know this is abrupt but I just need to say it. I cannot keep doing this. I know you like me. You should just stop dicking around and be my boyfriend. We should communicate in some fashion (text, call, carrier pigeon) once a day, and I should see you twice a week; once during the week and once a weekend. It really wont be that hard I promise. Get it together before it is too late.”
*He will think: Woahhhh when did this girl go off the deep end?

Currently, I am leaning towards B. What do you think? 

I am going to wait until I am at work tomorrow and then I'll decide whether to text him or not.

It's 9:30...clearly I am not hearing from him tonight. 

Maybe if I Put My Phone in the Other Room... (3/28/2011)


It is Monday evening and guess what still hasn't changed??

Maybe if I put my phone in the other room and stop thinking about it, I will hear from him. Kind of like the 'watched pot never boils' theory....

The phone stayed in the other room. No call. No text. Maybe its over? 

"I'm Sorry I'm MIA. Miss You Barbie" Umm WTF? (3/27/2011)

So my sister left a little while ago and now I am alone in my apartment feeling well, alone. This weekend was fun, and I don’t think she thought anything was wrong but I was sad/annoyed at Workaholic Ken the entire time. Fail on my part.

On Friday he texted me early, around 6:30, asking how my week had gone. I answered around 8:30, “fine, you?” And then nothing. Sister and I went to dinner and then met some of my friends at Buffalo Billiards in Dupont. Wow there are a lot of men that bar...THEN around 1:30 a.m. Workaholic Ken texts me, and when I don't respond he calls me. The text says, “So are you out tonight or what? I just blew off some steam but Nate is with a girl. I’m heading home. Alone.” Umm WTF? Do you sometimes go home NOT ALONE? Oh and doesn’t “So are you out tonight or what?” seem to have an annoyed undertone to it? I mean, hellooo he would know if I was out if he had asked me earlier!! How unbelievably frustrating. 

Around 2:30 Morgan and I left Buffalo Billiards and in the cab on our way home is when I saw the text and missed call.  So an hour had lapsed between him calling/texting and me seeing it. I decided to call him (I was a little drunky for texting)—but he didn’t pick up. So then I texted, “Hey I’m heading home now. Sorry I missed you.” He texts me back “No bid deal. I’m in bed. Hope you had a good night. I’m sorry I’m MIA. Miss you Barbie (my name). Night." I didn’t respond. Did it really need a response? You miss me? You're sorry you are MIA? Then why didn't you ask me to hang out tonight!!! What is your problem?? Can he really be this clueless? 

The next day I was feeling bad about not responding to the "miss you text" (I am SUCH a fail) so I sent him a text around 4pm that just said, “Hope you’re having a good Sat. and not working too hard.” He immediately responds, “Nope. In Reston. With (His Boss’s Name). We had a lovely little subway lunch together. It’s been a great day.” I don’t respond. Because once again, didn’t really seem to warrant a response. So around 6 I decide…ok you miss me so much prove it come see me. So I text him “I’m going out in Dupont tonight. I think you should meet up with us. Just a suggestion.” I thought the phrasing was easy, light, no pressure—I didn’t really think there was anything wrong with my text.

However, he clearly did not agree with me because I STILL have not heard from him. It is now 2pm on Sunday.  It has officially been over two weeks since I saw him. He couldn’t even text me back saying he was busy or not going out or in the hospital (I don't wish him harm I promise)….He just ignored the text. Pretty awful. Maybe this is it and I will just never hear from him again…I think if it goes another day or so with nothing I can just assume its over. And of course by “it” I am referring to the very non-relationship thing we have going on. Booooo. Ugh now it is 5:41pm on Sunday and still  nothing! 12:04 am on Monday and still nooooo text. Nooooo call. Going to bed. 

And I Cave... 3/24/2011


I caved. I just couldn't wait anymore! So I texted something about the type of work he does and how it came up today for me at work (actually sort of true) and that I just wanted to say “hey.” He responds quickly (for a change), “Hey. I’m having a week from hell. I want to jump out a window. How are you?” I respond, “Better than you it sounds…Sorry you are having such a rough week. But you cant jump out the window right now….You have to at least wait til I say goodbye to you in person.” I thought it was cute…No response. I guess it didn’t warrant a response…I mean I didn't ask a question, but I thought it was still not a closing statement...

It is 2 hours later and I really want to text him and say, “hope you opted to go home instead of jumping”—but maybe I should just let it go. No, let it go Barbie. He didn't text you back. Don't text him again. 

Ahhh I have no willpower. I ended up texting,“I hope you finished up and are home and that your day tomorrow is better.” Ugh, I know I am such a fail. He texts back at 10:38pm “Just got here. Shoot me. Collapsing in my bed. Talk to you soon.” I opted not to reply. What else is there to say? Good night? Pass.

On a less annoying note: My sister is coming to visit for the weekend! Now of course this means that unless Workaholic Ken meets us out or invites us to meet him, I wont be seeing him at all this weekend. And may I remind you that Sat. (Today is Thursday) it will be 2 weeks since I saw him. Not good news. 

On a positive note, the blue hydrangeas that I purchased last Thursday are still alive and kicking which means my apartment is houseguest ready for my sister!

I am really looking forward to my sister visiting. I have been feeling lonely lately and I am hopeful that this weekend will be fun. She, is two years younger, but she and I are best friends...and we have always been very close.  I made dinner reservations at Founding Farmers for Friday night and then we are going out in Dupont after, Sat during the day we are shopping and doing lunch at Tysons, and then Sat. night we are having margaritas and dinner at Los Cuates in Georgetown. Fun. Fun. 

Hopefully Workaholic Ken will at least try to hang out this weekend. I’m not sure how much more of this I can take...

And the Waiting Continues 3/23/2011


Day 10 no call. No text. Not happy. The record for having not heard from Workaholic Ken is 2 weeks. Now you may say, “why don’t you text him.” Answer: That’s just not my style. And believe me, I text him more often than I have any other guy…but I am not one of those girls that likes to do the work, at least not initially. I am traditional and kind of believe in the “guys like the chase theory.” Now you may say, "Well Barbie this isn’t really initially—its been 6 freaking months…grow a pair, take some control, and text the guy.” And you would be giving me really great advice...But I suck. I really just don’t want to give up on him. BUT I don’t know how many more weeks I can feel this down. 

How Long is Too Long? 3/22/2011


So we aren't quite up to the present yet. I am backtracking a little bit first, to last weekend (3/22/2011). At that point I hadn’t seen Workaholic Ken in 9 days. So I texted him on Sat.

Barbie (3:58pm):"Whatever business you are conducting I hope you are doing so outdoors..." (great weather)
Workaholic Ken (6:58pm): "Ha yeah I packed in the work earlier. Big day of work tomorrow though. Playing golf. Of course. How's your Sat. going?"
Barbie (8:11pm): "It's going well. Glad you got some golf in. Today was too pretty to be inside."

*I just want to briefly address the time stamps above: Of course I could have texted him back immediately. I always have my phone. But he always takes a while to respond so in turn I always wait a little while...don't you just love playing games???

Anyway, after the last text...nothing. Clearly he was not going to ask me to hang out.

Sooo frustrating. I know I really just need to tell him that it needs to be all or nothing at this point. But I just feel like he will pick nothing. And even as sad as I am right now, when I do eventually see him, I am so so happy. But I can’t keep this up. 6 months is enough. 

Oh have I also mentioned that we don’t have sex? Yeah. 6 months and no sex. I will absolutely admit that I can be a bit of a prude. My general rule is no sex unless we are exclusive. I think I have this rule for a few reasons: A. I am kind of a traditional girl and I like the idea of really liking and knowing someone before having sex with them. B. Part of it is that I am a huge germ-a-phobe and I couldn’t handle sleeping with someone who was also sleeping with other people ewww SO gross. C. Part of it is brainwashing--I am a co... giving my milk away for free, etc. Lovely I know......

SO early on in our “relationship” or whatever we are calling it, I told him that I wasn’t comfortable having sex with him if we weren’t exclusive. He said no problem. Now don't get me wrong...its not like we have been doing NOTHING for the past 6 months....we are definitely not talking about a PG rating (I think you know what I mean)...but no sex. I sleep over there, he has slept over here, but no sex. Lots of kissing, cuddling, and you know...well you knowwww. Anyway, about 2 months in I decided that I was now an adult (out of school, real job, real apartment, etc.) and that I really liked him and I decided that I was ok with sleeping with him. He however, was not. First he said that he really liked that I thought sex was important (great), and respects that, and understood where I was coming from. Second, he explained that at this point he doesn’t have the amount of free time necessary for a real relationship and he would want to do anything to upset me...Then he wanted to continue to talk about etc. I was not pleased. So bottom line. No sex. I mention this to address any concerns you may have had about me being used as a booty call, hook up buddy etc.

So amongst my friends and family, the popular theory is that Workaholic Ken wants to keep me around for when he eventually does have the time for a girlfriend and so he does absolutely nothing just enough to keep me around without doing anything to really upset me (aka sleeping with me and not seeing me for 9 days--that would upset me).

HOWEVER, this means that on a good week I will see him once—if it is during the week he cooks me dinner. Which is sweet and way better than going out for dinner. Weekends are trickier. You would think, ok so you work a lot. But surely on the weekend you would try to see the girl you like…Oh but you would be wrong. On the weekend, he always texts, BUT he goes out of town, hangs with friends,  goes golfing, sees his parents who come down like ever other weekend (they are trying to buy a house down here)….But he does not make it a priority to see me. The main point is that he is a jackass a busy guy that has not found a way to fit me into his life.

So now I am going on 9 days having not seen him. I wish it didn’t affect me so much but it does. I am in a terrible mood. All I want to do is stay in bed. But I can’t sleep. I went ahead and took a sleeping pill a little while ago. I usually wait and only take them if I am really upset but I am so down I just don’t want to think about it anymore. 

Engineer Ken III aka American Psycho


There have been a few gems but I think I will start with Engineer Ken the III. I’m sure you deduced from the name that this guy was an engineer, however, the III is because he was actually a 3rd. Like Benton Kingsly Scott III. Except—wait for it-- his name was actually worse. I would tell you the real one…and I realllly want to, but I have noticed most people keep things anonymous so I have decided that that  is the way to go too. But lets just say…it was a doozy.

Anyway I met him out at a bar one night near my apartment in Arlington. I was sitting at the bar and of what I can remember (and I don’t remember giving him my phone number—yay Patron shots) he seemed nice and was pleasant looking. So he texted a day or so later (texted didn’t call—point deduction) and asked if he could take me to dinner or meet me for drinks. I opted for drinks because a. I like Workaholic Ken and am only going out with this guy so I am not the pathetic Barbie waiting for Workaholic Ken to get his shit together and b. I don’t remember what Engineer Ken III looks like. Fabulous.

I agreed to meet him at Mr. Smith’s in Georgetown for drinks. I decide I need to get there earlier than him because I want him to have to come up to me to say hello because as I have said I honestly I had no idea who I was looking for. Once again—really? You are 26. Get it together. Patron shots are not ALWAYS necessary.

So I get there early. And he comes up to me and he is definitely cute. Super preppy and clean cut. He looks exactly like the character Ryan from the show the OC. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1360270/. His parents own a law firm in the south. Law=Fail.  But HE isn’t a lawyer so maybe there is hope for him.  Nope—he wishes he had gone to law school. Why??? Regardless of this clear lack of judgment, we have a really good time. We talk about jobs, family, music, and movies, the usual first date stuff. His favorite movie is American Pscyho. I mention this because, though it is not particularly unusual for guys of our generation, it becomes important later. Another Cliffhanger I know… 

Anyway, so I am matching his drinking pace (did I mention I was 5’1, oh and that I had already had a drink while I was waiting for him to arrive?) and soon enough I realize…Yup, I am drunk.  Maybe he was too, because while we are sitting in the bar he leans downs and he kisses me. Um forward much? But whatever, it wasn’t that big a deal. Its almost midnight and we both have work the next morning so we decide its time to call it a night. Well I decide…He tries to get me to come back to his house to watch a movie. Riiiight. So I drop him at his car and he leans over and kisses me again and then gets a little handsy. Um yeah! Finally, he gets out of my car. He wasn’t a bad kisser just too aggressive, especially since we were still pretty much strangers. I quickly learned not to judge this preppy clean cut looking book by its cover.

Engineer Ken III texts me the next day saying he had a good time and would like to see me again. OOOH the other thing I should mention. This kid always uses smiley faces or winky faces in his texts. VOM.  That is just not masculine at all. I suppose when used sparingly they are fine…but note to men—not in EVERY text. But I digress…

SO bottom line, we go out again. This time I meet him for drinks near his apartment. I should mention that this same evening Workaholic Ken calls to see what I am doing (not because he wants to do something he is just sort of checking in…he was calling from the office.) And I am a terrible liar and say I am meeting friends for drinks…he says what friends. I stumble over my words. Ugh. Why can’t he just get his act together!!!

Anyway, so I go to meet Engineer Ken III for drinks near his place. Yes I am a moron.  I’m sure, as you are reading this, you are thinking to yourself, “drinks near his place=getting you back to his place.” You absolutely would be correct and of course this absolutely didn’t even cross my mind. Umm FAIL.  So the date goes fine. Not as well as the first date in terms of conversation flow, but still solidly in the good range. The bar happens to be IN HIS BUILDING (oy)…So when he asks if I want to see his place it is kind of weird to decline since it is simply an elevator ride (note to self: I need to learn to “just say no”).  So I go up to his apartment for one more drink. Clearly a mistake on my part but I am usually pretty good at getting out of these situations after a little bit—early day of work tomorrow etc.

Now let me tell you, his apartment is crazy OCD clean for a guy.  It is just kind of sterile. It really reminds me of the apartment in American Psycho. It isn’t as nice but you get the idea. Oh and he has coasters for his bedside table which he uses religiously…We were kissing and I set my glass down (not on a coaster—I was a little distracted by him being attached to my face, he was lucky I didn’t spill!) and he stops kissing to look to see where I placed the glass and then moves it onto a coaster. Ummm American Psycho. OH and he only drinks scotch. Pretentious.

So we are sitting there and he of course tries to hook up with me. Um nooo. So since I shot that down he decides we should talk about sex and what we like to do etc. Um is this date 2? I don’t need to know what your fav position is. American Psycho. But I don’t want it to be awkward so I go along with it, talking about pretty normal likes and dislikes. You know standard things everyone likes. And then wait for it…he looks at me and asks me if I own a whip. And. He. Is. Serious. PAUSE FOR REACTION. Now first of all if you know me at all….NO I DON’T OWN A WHIP. I am definitely the Charlotte character from sex in the city. Like definitely. Don’t get me wrong, in a relationship, things are different and I can be quite fun and adventurous if I do say so myself…but date 2…do not ask me if I am in to S&M…Once again recall American Pscycho.

I leave at midnight and think to myself. What a weird guy! Clearly he wants sex. Now. Clearly I am not the right girl for him. But then Engineer Ken III texts me a day later to go out again!
WTF? I totally would have said no, but things with Workaholic Ken were still not going the way that I wanted them to, and I was feeling annoyed, sad, and frustrated, so I say ok to the date…Not the best moment for me. So I have him meet me for dinner a half a block from my apartment (meaning I am putting no effort into this whatsoever)…I wear jeans, boots, and a sweater. Once again, no effort.
Dinner is going well. We are talking about our families and jobs, you know, normal stuff. I am thinking to myself, maybe this could work. He is cute, and smart, from a good family, maybe we can get the aggressive sex situation under control. But don’t you worry….here come a few more American Psycho moments put the final nail in the coffin.

So Engineer Ken III gets steak (rare) and red wine. I get a Caesar salad and white wine. I don’t like red. At all. Like its not my thing. I just don’t like it. Also, I don’t like rare meat. At all. It looks raw and reminds me of the animal that it came from. However, first he insists that I try his wine knowing that I don’t like red. That is why he insists, to try to show me I am wrong. American Psycho moment. Fine, I take a sip. Its gross. Then our food comes and he insists on me trying his steak. Annoying, pushy, controlling yes but oh wait it gets better because---He cuts it into little bite size pieces for me. Instructs me to eat it and then drink more of his red wine. Are you voming yet. I know. American Psycho….
So after that I was just waiting for dinner to be over. But since he invited me up to his apartment, and we were less than a block from my apartment I felt obligated to ask him up for a drink. I know. I am too polite. It’s the southern hostess Barbie in me. Damn. So he comes in.

Now this kid is spoiled. First car was a Mercedes, now he drives a BMW, but my apartment is nicer than his. Much. Nicer. I think this made him jealous/like me more. More American Psycho-ness. Date 1 he talked about me meeting his parents (red flag right there wayyy too early)—but now, standing in my apartment, I can see him sort of  picturing himself in my apartment in the future. Stop. That will never happen. So he tries to kiss me for a while but I am just not feeling it…I can only be so polite. So I say I am pretty tired and I know he took the metro here, so I could drop him at his house if he wanted or he could take the metro home. He lives like a 2 minute drive away. He opts for me to drive. Damn again. So I drop him off.  Before exiting the car he awkwardly hugs me and I swear the usual male/female roles reverse. He is all like “So…will you call me” and I am like…”yea totally. Bye.” And I drive off with no intention of talking to this person again.

He texts me once more to hang out. I ignore it. He doesn’t text again. No more Engineer Ken III. It’s a good thing I ended it at date 3…I think the next date is the one where he takes the girl back to his place and gets the chainsaw. (If you haven’t seen American Psycho you really should—Mmmm Christian Bale).