Monday, March 28, 2011

The Perfect "How We Met" Story. No Really, it's Perfect.


So lets talk a little about Workaholic Ken. I met Workaholic Ken a year ago almost exactly. I met him through a mutual friend and I immediately liked him. My roommate from Law School, J, and I were coming back from Cabo (yes we thought it was appropriate to go on Spring Break in Law School) and we flew into D.C. We stayed one night in a hotel and the other with one of her friends from high school, Workaholic Ken. I should mention really quickly that unlike many women, looks are important to me. I know…I am a shallow person. And let me tell you….being shallow about it and going for attractive men has not served me well to this point. But I just can’t help it. I am a sucker for an attractive guy. Don’t get me wrong they need to have other qualities too, but I am not solely a “personality girl” or an "as long as he is funny kind of girl"—I am more like a guy in this way I suppose. I judge on looks then on personality. Maybe I will eventually grow up and stop being attracted to arrogant, self centered, good looking jackasses….

Sigh...But that day is not today, and it should go without saying that Workaholic Ken is very attractive--tall, dark, handsome, with great blue eyes. Also I just want to mention that he is outgoing, smart, funny, and charming…(clearly I am a bit excited about him). So anyway Workaholic Ken, J, and I went to dinner and then out for drinks, and I just remember thinking to myself that this guy was really cute. OH and the other thing that sticks out in my mind is that when we were walking through the crowded bar, he would put his hand on the small of my back to kind of shield/guide me through the crowd. Ummm swoon. Clearly this Barbie is a bit of a traditional girl…. So yeah. The night was going really well. Actually, we have this really great picture from that night of the two of us. Magically we both look really good in it and I’m sure you know how rare both parties looking good in a picture is…Clearly this means we are going to get married.

So I should also mention that J and I are complete jackasses and we packed only for Cabo and not for March in D.C. We had bright sundresses and bikinis and no normal clothes…It was maybe 45 degrees and rainy in D.C. Amazing. Thankfully we stayed at the Ritz in Tysons for a night and went shopping (clearly reasonable as we are living off of student loans) and purchased jeans so we didn’t look completely ridiculous (we still absolutely did.) The reason I tell you this is, besides the fact that I think it is important you know the type of person I am and the types of people my friends are, is because I want to illustrate that that night I was NOT looking my cutest. We are talking jeans that were way too long (as I mentioned, I am short, 5’1 to be exact, and jeans are not made for me—I get everything tailored. So, I hope you get the visual, there is a good 6 inches extra of pants going on), I’m sporting a plain army green tank top, and gold Tory Burch flip flops. Its H-O-T. Bottom line, the fact that I still felt like Workaholic Ken was pretty interested in me regardless of the fact that I looked like a Shrunken Safari Barbi was pretty encouraging...

Ok so back to the story, so the three of us are hanging out having a great time and then all of a sudden, or you know, at 2am, it was last call.  We start to head home. Here is where things get real people. So we walk outside and it is now raining. As I will mention now for the 3rd time --my jeans are like a mile and half too long so Workaholic Ken, without being asked, just picks me up and gives me a piggy back ride back to his apartment. Um yeah. Being picked up and carried by a hot guy, you just met, when it is lightly raining outside…kind of seems like something out of a movie to me. Swoon.

Now J was drunk…not quite sure how that happened…I was only tipsy and Workaholic Ken wasn’t too bad off either….but she was blackout. So Workaholic Ken gives us some of his clothing to wear to sleep in and J goes into the bathroom to change or maybe vom. While she is in there Workaholic Ken and I are just sitting on the pulled out couch dripping a little bit from the rain, and he leans over and kisses me. Let me just say. Great kiss. Short kiss. But great kiss. Then J comes back, completely oblivious to anything going on, and we all go to bed. Us on the pull out couch, Workaholic Ken in his bed. Mmm that kiss was perfect.

So just to recap this would be the story of how we met and our first kiss…He carried me in the rain, I looked like a drowned rat, I changed into his giant t-shirt and his lifeguard shorts (I didn’t remember this ensemble in this much detail but a couple months ago while we were chatting he mentioned what I had been wearing that night---Down to the specific shorts…Um Yeah. So cute that he remembered) and  even though I looked the way I did, he kissed me anyway. We have to get married. How cute is this story????

Now if you have done the math, you have realized that I had not broken up with Law School Ken at this point.  We were on a “break.” This was HIS choice by the way—HE broke up with ME on Valentines Day, ruined our plans, then tried to say that he didn’t actually break up with me (he absolutely did) but that he just wanted to be on a “break.” So please don’t feel sorry for him at this point. The definition of this “break”—was that we were not boyfriend/girlfriend BUT we also probably shouldn’t be with anyone else. 

What? Doesn’t that make total sense to you???

So anyway, I go back to law school (blah). And Workaholic Ken and I proceed to text back and forth for the next few months. There is some drama that I will get into in a different post concerning those few months but for now lets just leave it at that.

Intrigued aren’t you??

So anyway, I continue to “see” Law School Ken…we aren’t official…but we basically continued to date. Damn did he suck. Anyway FINALLY, I graduate from law school, move to D.C., break up with Law School Ken, and get a text from Workaholic Ken asking if I am now living here.

Why yes, yes I am. So we start hanging out. Now if I haven’t been clear about this “dating” situation—Workaholic Ken is NOT my boyfriend. This is the point where anyone reading this should start to nod and say to themselves, "I knew it! Workaholic Ken sounds great….But what’s the catch?" Well let me simply refer you to his name....

SO Workaholic Ken is, you guessed it, a workaholic.  Like a serious workaholic. He works from 7:30 am until 8:30-9pm sometimes later like 10:30-11pm (not uncommon at all for him.) AND he works on the weekends. A lot.

Now for real, the reason I went to law school, was not because I had a burning desire to be an attorney (eww), it was so that I would be capable of supporting my insane shopping habits. I think the fact that I accept and acknowledge that I am unreasonable somehow makes it better. In reality it doesn’t. 

Now money certainly isn’t everything BUT any Ken who is long term potential will honestly also have to make a good living. It is just the way I was raised…maybe its that traditional thing again. Hmmm?? So anyway, the fact that Workaholic Ken is driven and ambitious and loves his job is a total plus. It really is! BUT Workaholic Ken has his name for a reason. ALL he does is work. He has no work/life balance. He isn’t able OR doesn’t want to fit this Barbie into his life in any real way. Sad. 

Sooo in order to appease my family and friends and to feel like I have some control over my boy situation (really more because of the family and friends and their nagging) I have been seeing other people too. Next post I will tell you about Engineer Ken. I am just going to leave you with this teaser. WHIP. 

No comments:

Post a Comment